Melanie Bates's Blog Posts

Sat, Jan 2 - 11:00 PM
This one goes out to a dear friend who battled breast cancer this year. Battled? Hmpffff… She...
Mon, Dec 21 - 11:00 PM
Oh, SQUEE… Have I got a gift for you! I’m so stoked to share my best reads of 2015 with you. You...
Thu, Dec 10 - 11:00 PM
I don’t mean to date myself or anything, but back in the day “gig” was a term used by my musician...
Sun, Nov 8 - 11:00 PM
I’ve been working on the same novel since the beginning of time. In my first incarnation I...
Wed, Oct 7 - 11:00 PM
When I was sixteen I got a job at Curly’s Dari Freeze. Curly himself was short, squat, and lacking...
Mon, Sep 7 - 11:00 PM
I know. I know. You’ve heard the concept of love versus fear about a trillion times, so I’ll just...
Thu, Aug 6 - 11:00 PM
I’m having an anxiety attack. Palms sweaty. Breathing in gulps. Dark glob in my solar plexus....
Fri, Jul 3 - 11:00 PM
I stumbled to the coffee pot, poured myself a steaming cup, and put it in the microwave. Just like...
Tue, Jun 2 - 11:00 PM
I haven’t been able to bend my left pointer finger for the last six months. It moves far...
Sun, May 3 - 11:00 PM
I’ve been working on the same novel since 1999. Let me do the math for you. That’s sixteen years,...

Melanie Bates's Comments

Wed, Dec 23 - 8:43 AM
*Swoons and Passes Out* OMSquee, Laila. As you can see, I'm trying to comport myself with dignity...
Mon, Aug 18 - 2:48 PM
That helps SO much. Truly. I'm so grateful for your comment. Sending lots of love your way as you...
Wed, Jun 4 - 10:01 AM
Ironically enough the day you wrote this comment I was having a hyster :) I've never felt better...
Tue, May 6 - 10:33 AM
I couldn't agree more. There is that piece of not giving credit to those who have pedaled before...
Tue, May 6 - 10:30 AM
For sure. Many of the great artists studied under other famous artists by replicating their work....
Tue, Feb 11 - 10:27 AM
What your son said is really telling, Ellen. I had a moment on the phone with my sister yesterday...
Tue, Feb 11 - 10:23 AM
I do think it's automatic and it's something that we've been doing for a really, really long time...
Fri, Feb 7 - 4:33 PM
This is. absolutely. outstanding. Kudos, love. And... no more lemons.
Fri, Feb 7 - 4:27 PM
I'm so glad that you got something out of this, it's been a huge lightbulb for me and I'm much more...
Fri, Feb 7 - 4:26 PM
But I think we women could acknowledge each other with more smiles and thank you's than I'm sorry's...