Melanie Bates's Blog Posts

Thu, Aug 6 - 11:00 PM
I’m having an anxiety attack. Palms sweaty. Breathing in gulps. Dark glob in my solar plexus....
Fri, Jul 3 - 11:00 PM
I stumbled to the coffee pot, poured myself a steaming cup, and put it in the microwave. Just like...
Tue, Jun 2 - 11:00 PM
I haven’t been able to bend my left pointer finger for the last six months. It moves far...
Sun, May 3 - 11:00 PM
I’ve been working on the same novel since 1999. Let me do the math for you. That’s sixteen years,...
Sun, Apr 5 - 11:00 PM
So… my boyfriend has been insisting that we get a shock collar for the love of my life. (No way....
Sat, Mar 7 - 11:00 PM
I love Aha moments… more than potatoes mashed with a pound of real butter… more than snoring...
Thu, Feb 5 - 11:00 PM
Not so very long ago I felt like there was a rent in the fabric of my world. I was uprooted…...
Thu, Dec 25 - 11:00 PM
“Wake up and piss, the world’s on fire,” my step-dad used to yell up to me every morning through...
Sun, Dec 7 - 11:00 PM
I want to talk about something that just hit me like an anvil upside the head the other day. If...
Sun, Nov 9 - 11:00 PM
I have been seriously pushing my edge as of late. I’m no longer drafting along behind (if you’ve...

Melanie Bates's Comments

Mon, Aug 18 - 2:48 PM
That helps SO much. Truly. I'm so grateful for your comment. Sending lots of love your way as you...
Wed, Jun 4 - 10:01 AM
Ironically enough the day you wrote this comment I was having a hyster :) I've never felt better...
Tue, May 6 - 10:33 AM
I couldn't agree more. There is that piece of not giving credit to those who have pedaled before...
Tue, May 6 - 10:30 AM
For sure. Many of the great artists studied under other famous artists by replicating their work....
Tue, Feb 11 - 10:27 AM
What your son said is really telling, Ellen. I had a moment on the phone with my sister yesterday...
Tue, Feb 11 - 10:23 AM
I do think it's automatic and it's something that we've been doing for a really, really long time...
Fri, Feb 7 - 4:33 PM
This is. absolutely. outstanding. Kudos, love. And... no more lemons.
Fri, Feb 7 - 4:27 PM
I'm so glad that you got something out of this, it's been a huge lightbulb for me and I'm much more...
Fri, Feb 7 - 4:26 PM
But I think we women could acknowledge each other with more smiles and thank you's than I'm sorry's...
Fri, Jan 10 - 4:07 PM
We have been deemed crazy for a long, long time. Hysteria, just the origin of the word makes me...